Call for Papers


Sixth European Conference on Software Maintenance and Reengineering

Thermal Hotel, Margitsziget, Budapest, Hungary
March 11-13, 2002

CSMR is the premier European Conference on Software Maintenance and Reengineering. Its purpose is to promote both discussion and interaction about evolution, maintenance and reengineering. Topics of interest include, but are not restricted to:
  • Evolution, maintenance and reengineering
  • Metrics and economics
  • Pattern languages for evolution, maintenance and reengineering
  • Experience reports (successes and failures) on evolution, maintenance and reengineering
  • Evolution, maintenance and reengineering tools
  • Enabling technologies for evolution, maintenance and reengineering
  • Formal methods to support evolution, maintenance and reengineering
  • Software evolution and architecture recovery
  • System assessment for evolution, maintenance and reengineering
  • Migration and maintenance issues
  • Dealing with legacy systems towards new technologies
  • Wrapping and interfacing legacy systems
  • Data reengineering
  • Reverse engineering of embedded (control, mobile, ...) systems
  • Web-site evolution, maintenance and reengineering
  • Evaluation and assessment of reverse engineering tools
One of the basic intentions of this conference is to offer a European forum for discussion and exchange of experiences among researchers and practitioners. Therefore, besides academics, we kindly invite all those in companies developing maintenance tools, offering reengineering services or going through legacy systems migration experiences to contribute by submitting papers or presenting innovative tools, solutions or experience reports. This conference is not limited to European participants. Authors from outside Europe are also welcomed. A special rate is available for participants from the former COMECON countries.


Two types of submissions will be accepted: full length papers (not exceeding 4000 words in length and including a 150-200 word abstract) and short papers (not exceeding 2000 words in length and including a 75-100 word abstract) All papers should be in English. Authors are requested to submit electronically a PostScript or PDF version of their papers. In addition, they should send a separate file containing the title of the paper, full names, affiliations, postal and e-mail addresses, fax and telephone numbers of all authors. For submission details please look at the conference web site. IEEE Computer Society Press will publish the CSMR 2002 Proceedings. Full papers exceeding 10 pages (4 pages for short papers) will be charged for pages in excess. Authors of accepted papers must sign the IEEE copyright form. At least one author of each accepted submission must register and present the paper at the conference. The official language will be English.


Deadline for submissions October 20, 2001 ext. (CLOSED)
Author's notification November 24, 2001 (CLOSED)
Deadline for camera-ready of accepted papers    December 21, 2001 (CLOSED)
Deadline for early registration    February 15, 2002
Deadline for accommodation reservation    February 8, 2002


Sessions of special interest proposed by delegates are welcome. Please send suggestions to the program chair before the submissions closing date.


IEEE Computer Society   Reengineering Forum   University of Szeged   Case Consult GmbH  


Tibor Gyimóthy University of Szeged
Aradi Vértanúk tere 1, H-6720 Szeged, Hungary
phone: +36 62 544139
fax: +36 62 425508


Fernando Brito e Abreu Lisbon New University (FCT) & INESC
R Alves Redol 9, 1000 Lisboa, Portugal
phone: +351 21 3100263
fax: +351 21 3145843


Harry M. Sneed Case Consult GmbH
Flachstrasse 13, D-65197 Wiesbaden, Germany
phone: +49 611 942040
fax: +49 611 9420444


Gyõzõ Kovács Vice President, John von Neumann Computer Society
Báthory utca 16, H-1054 Budapest, Hungary
phone: +36 1 3329349
fax: +36 1 3318140


Erika Nyáry Softing Kft.
Közraktár utca 22, H-1093 Budapest, Hungary
phone/fax: +36 1 2187754


Fernando Brito e Abreu     Lisbon New University (FCT) & INESC, Portugal
Elliot Chikofsky Engineering Management & Integration, USA
Jürgen Ebert University of Koblenz-Landau, Germany
Tibor Gyimóthy University of Szeged, Hungary
Franz Lehner University of Regensburg, Germany
Lutz Richter University of Zurich, Switzerland
Harry Sneed Case Consult GmbH, Germany
Chris Verhoef (Chair) Free University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands


Peter Aiken
Information Systems Research Institute, USA
Philip Andon
Institute of Software Systems, Kiev, Ukraine
Francoise Balmas
Universite Paris 8, France
Keith Bennett
Durham University, United Kingdom
Jan Bosch
University of Groningen, Sweden
Fernando Brito e Abreu
INESC&FCT/UNL, Portugal (Co-chair)
Gerardo Canfora
University of Sannio, Italy
Elliot Chikofsky
Engineering Management & Integration, USA
Aniello Cimitile
University of Naples, Italy
Bálint Dömölki
IQSOFT, Hungary
Jürgen Ebert
University of Koblenz, Germany
Harald Gall
TU Wien, Austria
Tibor Gyimóthy
University of Szeged, Hungary (Chair)
Jean-Luc Hainaut
Institut d'Informatique, Belgium
Ric Holt
University of Waterloo, Canada
Ahto Kalja
Tallin Technical University, Estonia
Damir Kalpic
University of Zagreb, Croatia
Victor Kasyanov
A. E. Ershov Institute, Novosibirsk, Russia
Rudolf K. Keller
Zuhlke Engineering AG, Switzerland
Kostas Kontogiannis
University of Waterloo, Canada
Rainer Koschke
Institut fur Informatik, Germany
Jaroslav Kral
Charles University, Czeh Republic
Jens Krinke
Universitat Passau, Germany
Franz Lehner
Universitat Regensburg, Germany
Jan Madey
Warsaw University, Poland
Hausi Muller
University of Victoria, Canada
Pavol Navrat
Slovak University of Technology in Bratislava, Slovakia
Paolo Nesi
Universita degli Studi di Firenzi, Italy
Roumen Nikolov
Sofia State University, Bulgaria
Jukka Paakki
University of Helsinki, Finland
Vaclav Rajlich
Wayne State University, USA
Lutz Richter
Universitat Zurich, Switzerland
Harry Sneed
Case Consult GmbH, Germany
Pedro Sousa
Lisbon Technical University, Portugal
Jurij Silc
Jozef Stefan Institute, Ljubljana, Slovenia
Tarja Systa
Tampere University of Technology, Finland
Andrey Terekhov
Sankt Petersburg University, Russia
M. G. J. van den Brand
CWI, The Netherlands
Chris Verhoef
Free University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Documents to download:

Call for papers (pdf)

Program Committee (pdf)

Call for papers and Program Committee (txt)